Technical ICT Skills

There are many technical ICT courses available to support personal IT professional development. Indeed, undertaking one or more of these courses and gaining a recognised qualification may be a requirement for advancement and promotion in your organisation or as part of your annual Continuing Professional Development (CPD) plan, for example, as part of the registration renewal process for UKCHIP.


The information and links provided below do not refer specifically to commercial training providers, details of which may be found locally from your informatics skills development lead. The information relates to the major suppliers of technical systems and software to the NHS and their certification schemes, to industry- wide vendor-neutral certification schemes, and to sources of guidance on careers and training.


SFIAplus is the IT skills, training and development standard widely used in the UK and beyond. Developed and maintained by the BCS in consultation with IT practitioners and employers, SFIAplus defines skills for the IT professional plus the training and development required to nurture and maintain them. The UKCHIP standards for registration incorporate SFIAplus as the basis for IT competence requirements.

ITSkillsPathway logo

The NHS IT Skills Pathway provides access to customisable training and assessment products covering the full range of competences for users of the main Microsoft Office products, from basic through to advanced levels. It has been developed in partnership with the NHS to provide an officially recognised route of learning and certification for the whole NHS workforce.

BCS certifications logo

BCS Professional Certification (formerly ISEB) offers a large number of ICT qualifications in a variety of subject areas.


Comptia logo

The Computing Technology Industry Association is a non-profit trade association advancing the global interests of IT professionals and companies, focusing their programs on four main areas: education, certification, advocacy and philanthropy.  It is one of the world’s largest developers of vendor-neutral IT certification exams.

Cisco logo

Cisco Career Certifications provide IT certification programs a specifically for network professionals, their managers, and the organisations that employ them.

eSkills logo

e-Skills UK, the Sector Skills Council for IT and Telecoms, provides information, advice and guidance on careers, courses, training and financial help.

HP logo

HP Education Services offers a comprehensive selection of training and e-learning solutions across a wide variety of IT course subjects.



Microsoft TechNet  offers online learning, virtual labs, live events (all often free) together with formal Microsoft Certifications help you become an expert and maintain skills in the latest Microsoft technology.

National Skills Academy logo

The National Skills Academy for IT is an employer-led partnership which promotes excellence in IT learning and development.  It has been created by employers to attract more people into the sector; make strategic interventions in areas where skills are in need; and encourage the uptake of high quality training among individuals and employers.

Oracle logo

The Oracle University provides details of IT training and certification available from Oracle.